Meantime Brewing Company – India Pale Ale

I found this corked bottle of IPA at my local beer store and I was immediately drawn to it. Meantime Brewing Company is located across the pond in England and it claims to brew ‘traditional’ IPAs, whatever the fuck that means. I have put off purchasing it for a while due to its high price but today I have reason to celebrate. After popping the cork and pouring out a glass, I put it up to my lips, inhaled through my nose, and gulped. My first response was “Oh sweet Jesus this sucks, ” but I quickly realized I needed to let it breath. It was the over carbonation that took me by surprise. Once the bubbles settled and the brew was closer to room temperature, the full flavors appeared and shocked the shit out of me. Maybe it was the citrus notes that got me. Maybe it was the bitterness. Who cares? I fucking loved this beer. See it? Buy it. 5 out of 5. Drink it.

Leave a comment